Wednesday, November 21, 2012


Proud of their native state and boastful  of its progress and historical prominence, more than 150 members of the Philadelphia Sons of Delaware Society visited  historic Lewes today on their annual reunion pilgrimage.

The excursion of the former Delawareans was of state wide interest. governor Charles R. Miller welcomed the visitors on behalf of the syaye; Mayor Jsames T. Thompson of Lewes and George P. Tunnell, president of the Lewes Board of Trade also extended greeting.   Many citizens of the town formed a reception committee which had made elaborate plans for the entertainment of the visitors.

An old fashion SHAD dinner, with all the trimmins, cooked by southern mammies was the central part of the celebration was held in the auditorium  after which were heard recited glories by the men who are now leaders in Delaware and Philadelphia where they are widely known in professions and business.

The Sons of Delaware traveled by special train which left Broad Street Station just afterenoon and arrived at Lewes at 3 o'clock. The Lewes station was resplendent beneath banners and flowers.  They then were driven around town in motor cars which took them to the DeVries Monument where Judge Henry C. conrad of Georgetown and Benjamin A. Hazel of Smyrna narrated the history of the settling of the Dutch and told how this small settlement had expanded into the State of Delaware.. From there the sons of Delaware were escorted to the ocean front where the Harbor and Federal Breakwater and wireless station were inspected. The group also visited the new fish factory, recently erected,  and told the plants are considered the largest and most modern on the Atlantic Coast.

Some of the noted speakers were  Dr. Charles H. Hearne, richard Fisher, Govenor Miller, Judge Conrad, Daniel O. Hastings, , ex-govenor Tunnell and ex-congressman Hiram Burton. who reside in Lewes.

Officers of the Sons of Delaware Society are; president, Dr. Hearne; first vice pressident, Charles MeGee, second vice president, Clarence Nesbit, treasurer, L. C. Dill,  secretary, John W. Graham, and Historian, W. S. Emerson.